The Scholars

2019-2020 Scholars

Lewis Reed and Denise Osei1

Lewis Reed has a First Class degree in Law from Durham University, where he graduated top of his cohort. At the College of Europe, he is studying European Legal Studies. Harbouring a strong interest in public, international and human rights law, he aims to assess the impact of EU law on national constitutional identity. Upon his return to the UK, Lewis will undertake the Bar Professional Training Course, in order to bring this new perspective to his career at the Bar.

Denise Osei has a first class Law with French Law degree from the University of Sheffield. Studying European law at the College of Europe helps her to appreciate how EU law blends world politics and law ​through taught courses, seminars, and networking with fellow students from all over Europe. Herself from an international background, she is interested in immigration law and questions of citizenship. Her ambition is to work at the Bar in the intersections of European and international law such as public law, and she has since studying at the College formed an interest in Competition Law.

2018-19 Scholars

3 British students Photo by Charlotte Dupon

Photo credit: Charlotte Dupon

William Spence studied Politics & International Relations at Cambridge University and then gained a graduate Diploma in Law from City University. He is now working towards a Master’s Degree in European Law and Economic Analysis where he finds a useful emphasis on explaining economic concepts to lawyers that should be useful in his future career: he aims to work in competition/company law on his return to London.

Katherine Pye is studying for an MA in International Relations and Diplomacy in Bruges, having gained a BA in History and Politics at Oxford University. It is her wish to go on to complete doctoral studies in European security before pursuing a career in EU foreign policy research, either academically or for the UK government.

Susanna Garside has a degree in European Studies from Trinity College, Dublin and is now studying for an MA in International Relations and Diplomacy in Bruges. Her interests lie in environmentally sustainable development and international conflict management and she recognises the potential for the EU to tackle certain political issues – for example, environmental policy – more effectively than is possible at a national level.

Rebecca Pritchard is in the European Interdisciplinary Studies programme in Natolin. With a degree from Reading University in Archaeology and History she found working as an archaeologist alongside other Europeans with different social and cultural beliefs extremely enlightening. After a childhood spent in a former coal-mining area of England whose inhabitants now feel isolated and ignored, she is determined to lessen the polarisation that Brexit has exposed.


2017-2018 Scholars (Simone Veil promotion)

Charlotte Brett (IRD) now has a job as a Program and Communications Assistant with the European Business Summit (Brussels).

Joel Mason (IRD) is now a trainee in the communications unit of DG DEVCO (Development Cooperation) at the European Commission.

Anna Wilson (EID) is now a social policy researcher in the UK.


2016-17 Scholars (John Maynard Keynes promotion)

Sophie Buckingham (IRD) works in the Parliamentary Affairs Division of the European External Action Service in Brussels.

Samuel Kerr (IRD) works in the humanitarian arm of the European Commission, DG ECHO.

Nye Williams-Renouf (IRD) works as a policy adviser in HM Treasury.

Brunat Scholars

Recipients of BRUNAT Scholarships at a reception in Bruges in Summer 2017.


2015-16 Scholars (Frederic Chopin promotion)

Zoe Grimes (POL) is  a senior policy adviser in the Department for International Trade.

Veronika Kucherchuk (EID) works at the European Endowment for Democracy as an Eastern Partnership Programme Officer intern.

Adin Samson (IRD) works in Brussels in the UKREP.

Roland Scarlett (EPA) is focussing on European and international law as a trainee solicitor with Clifford Chance.


2014-15 Scholars (Falcone & Borsellino promotion)

Alex Braley (EPA) is in the Foreign & Commonwealth Office, currently in Brussels at UKREP.

Jonathan Peters (IRD) has experience of working closely with the European Parliament and is in the Department for Exiting the EU in London.

Zara Reid (IES) works on Europe in the Foreign & Commonwealth Office.

Andrew Wright (LAW) is  a judicial assistant to the President of the Queen’s Bench Division in the Court of Appeal, having been selected for his EU expertise.


2013-14 Scholars (Voltaire promotion)

Adam Bruton (LAW) works at the UK Permanent Representation in Brussels.

Simon Budden (EPA) works in Communications in the European Parliament in Brussels.

Samuel Villiers (LAW)  works with a Spanish law firm in Brussels.


2012-2013 Scholars (Václav Havel promotion)

Oliver Hodgson (LAW) is with a London law firm.

Alex Keynes (EPA)  works in the European Parliament in Brussels.

Yentyl Williams (IRD) founded and directs ACP Young Professionals Network and is currently a PhD candidate at Bristol University.


2011-2012 Scholars (Marie Skłodowska Curie promotion)

Sebastian Clark (IRD) is employed by HM Treasury.

Emily Murrell (IRD), following employment in the UK civil service as a senior policy advisor, works with HSBC on climate finance.

Nicholas Todd (IRD) is in the Foreign & Commonwealth Office Fast Stream.



“It would be no exaggeration to say that my time at the College has been perhaps the most memorable and rewarding 10 months of my life so far, both academically and socially.”

Nicholas Todd, former Brunat Scholar